Chairman of Standing Committee on External Affairs

  • On the 31st of August 2013, Shri Ananthkumar was re-appointed as the Chairman of Standing Committee on External Affairs. He has held this post since 2010.
  • This is his 10th term as Standing Committee Chairman. Previously, he was the Chairman for Committee on Coal & Steel Member, General Purposes Committee, and Committee on Finance, Committee on Chemicals and Fertilizers.
  • In his term as Chairman of Standing Committee Chairman Shri. Ananthkumar submitted 18 reports. Under his leadership 85 meetings of the committee were held between 2010 and 2013. Under Shri.Ananthkumar’s Chairmanship various study tours have also been organized.
  • The committee is composed of 28 members, 18 from the Lok Sabha and 10 from the Rajya Sabha. Shri.Ananthkumar is a member of the Lok Sabha and is the Chairman of this committee, which has as members other distinguished parliamentarians like Dr. Karan Singh and Smt. Ambika Soni.
  • The Standing Committee on external affairs is currently reviewing the Nalanda University (Amendment) Bill, 2013.
  • In 2012, Shri Ananthkumar spoke at the General Assembly of the United Nations, New York.
  • What is a Standing committee? Standing Committees are permanent and regular committees that are constituted from time to time in pursuance of the provisions of an Act of Parliament or Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha.