I am pleased to note that there has been a high voter turnout of 71% in the Madhya Pradesh assembly elections. For this I congratulate the enthusiastic voters. Also, I offer my thanks to the countless number of security personnel who risked their lives to protect democracy.

I am confident that the BJP, under the able leadership of Shivraj Chouhanji, will emerge triumphant in Madhya Pradesh.

  • Madhya Pradesh registered over 71% turnout as polling for 230-seat Legislative Assembly ended at 5 pm on Monday amid unprecedented security arrangements.
  • The previous high turnout in MP was 69.58% in the 2008 assembly elections.
  • Voting began at 8 in the morning under the watchful eyes of the Election Commission all over the state barring three constituencies in Balaghat district, a Maoist hub where balloting began an hour earlier so that it could end – for security reasons – before sunset.
  • Long queues were seen from morning at many polling booths in major cities of the state, including Bhopal.
  • Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Leader of the Opposition in state Assembly Ajay Singh were among those who cast their votes early in their respective constituencies of Budhni and Churhat.
  • The highest voting was registered in Saunsar with 72%. Meanwhile voting in three Naxal-affected seats of Balaghat including Launji, Parswada and Baihar registered 65.74%, 66% and 71.30% turnout respectively.
  • Strict security arrangements were made all over the state to ensure smooth conduct of polling.
  • Voting was held in 53,896 polling booths in 51 districts with an electorate of 4,64,57,724.
  • More than 55% of the 4.66 crore electorate had voted by 4 p.m. across the sprawling state.
  • Additional Chief Electoral Officer for Madhya Pradesh, V L Kantha Rao told reporters that the average for male voters was 43.92% while that for female voters was 42.73 per cent.
  • He said that a maximum of 47% of female voters had cast their votes in Susner constituency (Shajapur) while 55% males had exercised their franchise in Narsinghgarh seat (Rajgarh).