Heartly Congratulations to VinayKumar and Karanatka Ranji Team! A Moment of glory arrived after 14 years of wait.
Karnataka defeated Maharashtra by seven wickets to win the 2013-14 season’s Ranji Trophy here on Sunday at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium.

This was Karnataka’s seventh Ranji Trophy title and first since 1998-99 season. They had come very close to winning in Mysore in 2010 but went down to Mumbai by just 6 runs.

R Vinay Kumar became the sixth Karnataka captain to win the title. EAS Prasanna (twice), Brijesh Patel, Anil Kumble, Rahul Dravid and Sunil Joshi are the others.

For coaches J Arun Kumar (batting) and Mansur Ali Khan (bowling), fondly known as Jak and Mak, it was a double delight. They had won the Ranji Trophy as players in 1998-99. Jak had scored a ton in second innings of that final against Madhya Pradesh. Karnataka had won by 96 runs in Bangalore.