In 2004, he became as the National General Secretary of the BJP and has held that post ever since.At the same time he was the party in-charge of states Bihar and Madhya Pradesh and  has contributed to the party’s victory in both the state’s respective Assembly elections. He has also been an important member of the party’s parliamentary board.